This topic has been dealt with, a number of times and is always one of the most talked about issues, but still it has not got ingrained in the people’s minds and is not making landmark effects which it should be making. Till date, most of us seem to be conforming to the cultural edicts which we should be challenging, rather vehemently.
Many a times the staunchest of feminists happen to be conforming and adhering to the stereotypes and cultural traits associated with “females”, quite possibly unconsciously! This made me inquisitive about the female psychology and the elements that go into the making of it. It also rang the bell in my mind regarding the female stereotypes, most of the times, which are even endorsed by the psychoanalysts. I wondered that for the stereotypes to have made such a strong hold there has to be some authentication. Sometimes I found myself also saying and believing certain stereotypes like ‘females are bad drivers’ or ‘girls are gossip mongers’ or ‘girls do not have a philosophical bent of mind’ or ‘politics and news does not interest them’ or that ‘shopping is synonymous to females’. I looked around and realised that today also in the wake of modernity, these traits are very much existent even among the most educated breed of the gender that is referred to as “female”. Then I mulled over it and read some books and realised that why would not be there such traits with specificity to females? Why would not be women lagging behind? The point to be noted here is that they are not lagging behind in anything else but in a very basic thing – lagging behind in the race of becoming a human being!
I realised that females, if, are lagging behind in certain things, then this can be the only reason that females happen to be the late entrants in everything created and invented in man’s world by the men, for the men and of the men!
The concluding line could be the statement made by Simone De Beauvoir regarding females, “As long as she still has to struggle to become a human being, she cannot become a creator.”
Wednesday, March 21, 2007
Thursday, March 1, 2007
The great Indain midlle class tamasha
What to say about the great Indian middle class and it's orientations! where is the ever burgeoning middle class and its ever increasing consumerist attitude, heading toward? It looks as if we are reliving the past!! the middle class of India was born during the coclonial period but it seems it could never come out of the role that it was expected to play during those times - the role of an "assisting class"! but one cannot blatantly repudiate the fact that there was a time when the middle class used to be a bit more human and sensitive. there was a time when people used to think that how could they live in luxury when the majority of the people are living in misery!! there was a period of sensitivity; there was a epriod of humanity! What has happened to it?? what are todays people eating that such people are not produced anymore. It sounds quite hilarious though. The new Indian middle class is definitely growing quantitatively but there are major doubts about it's qualitative growth!! it seems to be still living upto it's image of the assisting class. It's orienatations are also embedded in quantity rather than quality. There was a time when the middle class used to be responsible for bringing anout changes in the society. now there seems a stark contrast- now the new middle class just sees the happenings in the society silently and passively. It hurts when one has to describe the new Indian middle class as just the money making class and not the thinker creating class; it hurts when one realises that the new middle class is the biggest perpetrator of the "culture of silence"!! IT HURTS, IT HURTS, IT HURTS!!!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)